Hebrews 11:17-19

“By faith Abraham, when he was tested offered up Isaac, and he who had received the promises was in the act of offering up his only son of whom it was said, “Through Isaac shall your offspring be named. He considered that God was able even to raise him from the dead, from which, figuratively speaking, he did receive him back.”

 

This verse lies amidst many that start off, “By faith…” in Hebrews chapter 11. I was reading a book by A. W. Tozer where he talked about Abraham and all the implications of him truly sacrificing Isaac, the next day I read this verse and God has been putting the word “sacrifice” on my heart.

I have been living in Cambodia for the last several months, and I go home in about 1 month and a half, which is a lot to process. Cambodia is my home now, the people I love, the streets I walk, the school I teach at, it’s a lot to take in starting to think about the time winding down. I had time a few days ago to sit outside and really think about what these past few months have been here, the memories the joys, the pain and sorrow, I will write about all of that very soon. The thing with that, is as I have said in many IBS’s before is that I need to be in the now, be all at where I am at for such a time as this. Thinking about the future, though not to far ahead, the Lord has really put on my heart the word “impact” for this time that I have left here. Impact. Not that people remember what I did or me, I hope they forget that, I do want them to remember Christ, His words, His love, and who He is. In the best way possible, I want to make the most of my time here. There is no way I can make a lasting impact or, taking a few steps back, make any amount of the full potential of impact God is calling me to if I do not sacrifice. I have some dreams of what my ideal life would look like, but a lot of them involve some serious sacrifice, and I want to be ready if God were to call me. I am not speaking about physical sacrifice, but spiritual sacrifice, laying things I struggle or hold onto before God. Also, regardless of the future, I need to sacrifice myself daily, desires and plans, even if they are of good intention. God promised Abraham a son in which promises, true God spoken promises, were to be fulfilled, and then told him to sacrifice Him so that God may take back his rightful place on the throne where Abraham had put his son Isaac. At first read, this verse is about faith and a confirmed Christophany of God sacrificing his own son, and all that is true, but it is about so much more. It is about trusting God in our own lives even when he tells us things that make absolutely no sense. I used to have many questions for God, about past, many “why” questions, God out of his own mercy has answered a lot of them for me, but a lot of my daily walk with Him involves sacrificing all of my own rights, even knowing answers to questions that in my flesh I feel as though I deserve answers too. Sacrifice is dying to self every day, even when the cause why is a question itself. This verse reminds me of another verse in the gospel of John talking about when a seed falls to the ground, how not until it has died can it bear fruit. The same goes for us as Christians, we cannot bear fruit until we have died to ourselves and pick up the cross to follow after Christ. My prayer this week is that God will keep cleaning me and preparing me as the Potter does the clay for whatever he has next for me in my time here in Cambodia.

Leave a Reply

